Introduction to the Chakras

two ladies are doing Yoga | Pellara

Yoga tradition tells that your energy flows through the subtle body, a part of you that you can't see or touch, your energy body. There are seven key points in the subtle body acting as vortexes of energy, which are known as chakras. Free flow of energy through chakras is essential for your health, energy blockage in any of them it triggers physical, mental, or emotional imbalances, causing symptoms such as anxiety, lethargy, or poor digestion.

Root Chakra Symbol 

The Root Chakra or Muladhara

As first chakra, the Root Chakra located at the base of the spine. It is associated with red colour and is often depicted with four petals surrounding a triangle within a square. It governs sexuality, stability, sensuality, and security.

The mantra associated with the Root Chakra is “I am” or “VAM.”

Dragon Blood stone, Black Tourmaline and Obsidian represent and balance the Root Chakra.

To keep the root chakra open and balanced, one can overcome fears and anxiety disorders. Also, it helps bladder, lower back, feet or legs, elimination and colon problems.   

Sacral Chakra Symbol

The Sacral Chakra or Svadhisthana

Located at the sacrum, the Sacral Chakra is associated with orange colour and is symbolized by a crescent moon within a six-petal lotus flower. It governs reproduction, creativity, joy, and enthusiasm.

The mantra associated with the Sacral Chakra is “I feel” or “LAM.”

Bloodstone and Mookaite represent, balance and open the Sacral Chakra.

By opening and balancing this chakra, you can get rid of general emotional instability, fearing change, feeling depressed or indulging in addiction-like behaviors and sexual dysfunctions.



Solar Chakra symbol

The Solar Plexus (Navel) Chakra or Manipura

Located in the abdomen just above the navel, the Solar Plexus Chakra is often depicted using yellow colour. It symbolized as a downward facing triangle surrounded by ten petals. It governs digestion, personal power, expansiveness, and all matters of spiritual growth.
The mantra associated with the Solar Plexus Chakra is “I do” or “RAM.”
Citrine, Tiger Eyes, Tourmaline, and bloodstone are associated with, balance and open Solar Plexus Chakra.
Having an open and balanced Manipura, helps to decide more confidently and being self-esteem. It can help you in control or anger issues, procrastinate, express constant apathy or that others may take advantage of you very easily, digestive issues, tummy ache or problems with gas.



Heart Chakra Symbol

 The Heart Chakra or Anahata

 Located in the chest, this green chakra is symbolized by a flower with twelve petals. Within the flower there are two intersecting triangles (which look similar to the Star of David). It governs circulation, unconditional love (both for yourself and other people), passion and devotion.

The mantra associated with the Heart Chakra is “I love” or “YAM.”

Pink and green Tourmaline and Rhodonite represent and open Heart Chakra.

By opening and balancing the heart chakra you can easily stop emotions such as jealousy, anger, fear of betrayal, grief and hatred towards others and yourself, holding grudge against someone or something, so you can find inner peace deep inside of yourself.
Throat Chakra symbol

The Throat Chakra or Vishuddha

Depicted by sixteen petals that surround a circle containing a crescent, the Throat Chakra is pale blue in colour and located at the thyroid gland in the throat.

 This chakra governs comminati-on, independence, fluent thought and sense of security.

The mantra for the Throat Chakra is “I speak” or “HAM.”

Aquamarine and Amethyst represent and open Throat Chakra.

Open and balanced throat chakra can help to eliminate the trouble to speak your truth, difficulty to remain focused and pay attention, fear of being judged by others and increases your ability to see things around clearly. Also reduces sore throat, thyroid gland problems, shoulder and neck stiffness and headaches.



Third Eye Chakra symbol

The Third Eye Chakra or Ajna

 The Third Eye Chakra is located at the center of the forehead and is symbolized by a lotus with two petals and is often associated with indigo, violet, or deep blue. It governs trusting the inner self, intuition, consciousness, and mental clarity.

The mantra associated with the Third Eye Chakra is “I see” or “OM.”

Malachite, Azurite-malachite, La- pis Lazuli and Sodalite represent and open Third Eye Chakra.

Opening and keep this chakra balanced may help to overcome emotional distress, isolation and disconnection from other people and events.



Crown Chakra symbol

The Crown Chakra or Sahasrara

At or above the crown of the head, the Crown Chakra is depicted as a lotus flower with a thousand petals. It is often multi-coloured or white in representation. It governs wisdom.

The mantra associated with the Crown Chakra is “I understand.”

Citrine, Smokey quartz, Golden rutilated quartz and Black rutilated quartz represent and open Crown Chakra.


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published